Day 12 of Social Distancing: Memory of Didsbury

On my twelfth day of working from home, I did quite a lot from preparing some data for research collaboration, conduct an online class, review a paper, and planning for an online workshop.

By 8pm, I decided to give myself a little Me-time.

My mind flew back to the time when I was finishing my Ph.D. between 2003 – 2004.

At that time, I lived in a second-floor flat in Didsbury, a suburban area just outside Manchester. Just like many areas in the U.K., it was really complete area, with many stores, banks and even a cinema! I remembered watching Troy in that cinema.

That’s our flat, the middle one on the second floor

My husband was working in one of the universities in Manchester. While I spent my days holed up in the flat to finish my experiments and writing my thesis.

A corner by the window where I would did my thesis

The flat was fully furnished with a large room that functions as bedroom, living room, and dining room. There are a small kitchen and a bathroom with a bath-tub.

Another feature that I loved from the flat is that it has a big window. Mind you, we don’t get much sun in England, but during the summer I enjoyed glorious days from that big window.

There were times that I did not leave the house at all. I woke up, prepared breakfast, waved goodbye to my husband from the big window, then started working. Around noon I prepared our meal.

I always have my music on, to kill the loneliness. This is my playlist from those days.

When I felt bored, I just stared out of the window.

There was a big tree outside the house. I watched that tree in the fall, spring then summer. I also spied on the family in front of the flat. I loved to see the kids welcomed their grandparents during christmas.

The end of fall and beginning of spring

Spring was really gorgeous around the area since they have so many cherry blossoms.

Lovely Cherry Blossom
Fresh flower in the summer

Oh, what a time that I will cherish forever.

 

 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started